top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerun_sunshine

Santa Rosa Half Marathon

Santa Rosa, CA

August 29, 2021

Disclaimer: I received a free entry to this race through the BibRave Pro ambassador program. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro at BibRave.com


What’s more fun than running in the heart of California’s Wine Country?! The Santa Rosa Marathon weekend takes place in late August and features a 5k/10k on Saturday and a half/full marathon on Sunday. https://santarosamarathon.com/

Located in Sonoma County, and 55 miles north of San Francisco, Santa Rosa is one of the largest cities in the North Bay Area. It’s cool and trendy downtown is home to quaint restaurants and tasting rooms.


I registered for the half marathon taking place on August 29, 2021. It would be the first large in-person race in this area of California since March 2020 and I was really looking forward to it! My running had improved during the pandemic and I was excited to try to break my sub 1:49:00 goal time. Sub 1:49:00 is the qualifying time in my age group for the NYC marathon.

Since I live 80 miles from the race location, I used the convenient bib mailing option. For a $15 fee, my race bib and phenomenal swag (with the exception of the wine) was FedEx’d to me a few days prior to the race.

Thankfully, on race morning the smoke from regional wildfires had cleared. There was a coolness in the air as I left my house at 5am to travel down I-80, then over to beautiful wine country. As I exited off Highway 101, I easily found a free parking lot just a block away from the Old Courthouse Square, a spacious community plaza and the designated starting area for the race.

The atmosphere was already bustling with race-morning excitement since it was only 10 minutes until the marathon start which was 6:30am, an hour before the half marathon start time. Almost immediately, I ran into my running buddies, Carlos and Ernesto. We are all members of our local Fleet Feet running club and it was great to see familiar faces so quickly after arriving! We watched the marathoners ready themselves in the starting corral and take off on their 26.2 mile journey. As we chatted, Carlos convinced me to do a quick warm-up run, something I don’t usually do before a race. So, I walked back to my car, locked up my belongings, and headed out to do laps around the block, hoping to get my legs inspired!

After a short jaunt around the block, I collected my drop bag and went back over to congregate with everyone, use the facilities (which were plentiful with no lines), and otherwise ready myself to race. I was looking for IG runners I knew, another group I belong to called Running Lushes, and of course my BIBRAVE Team! It was fabulous finally meeting up with them in person, such a supportive and positive group! Pictured below are BibRave Pro ambassadors Megan https://instagram.com/inkedrunnerchick88?utm_medium=copy_link


Race start time was getting close so I wished my new friends good luck, dropped off my bag at the conveniently located drop-off tent, and found a spot near the front of the corral. I was standing closer to the 1:30 finishing time pacer than to the 1:50 pacer and it didn’t bother me at all. I had my goal and I was going to do my own thing regardless of the others on course. The corral was packed, just like old times. I found out later there were 978 half marathon finishers this year, a respectable turnout!


The air horn sounded and a girl tripped and fell in the push to start. We helped her up, quickly crossed the timing mat, and took off out of the gates! Right away, I saw my other running group and they shouted, “Go! Beth!!!” I smiled and waved, so happy to see them. The brief encounter gave me a burst of positive energy right at the start. Then, I settled in, switching my focus back to the task at hand.

I had memorized the course and the elevation chart: slightly downhill for the first seven miles, then slightly uphill back to the finish. My plan was to run by effort, trying to make it to mile 7 in 56 minutes or so. For this race in particular, I wasn’t concerned about going out too fast because I reasoned the downhill would factor into the pace, plus I‘d be slower on the back half regardless because of the incline and I’d need that extra bit of time.


The first couple of miles wrapped through the city streets and I could tell I was probably overdoing the speed but, still, it felt manageable.

Mile 1 7:45

Mile 2 7:51


The course then travels down the Santa Rosa Creek Trail, a bike path with views of the creek, artwork and murals, and of course beautiful vineyards. Aid stations and cheering spectators were strategically located along the path. Plenty of water and Gatorade were offered along with refreshing, cold, wet rags as the temperatures rose in the later miles. While it was a cool 60 degrees at the start, the bright sun and coastal humidity quickly made the temps slightly uncomfortable.

Mile 3 7:56

Mile 4 8:09

Mile 5 8:11

Mile 6 8:20


By mile 6, I was starting to feel kind of tired. I told myself to enjoy this last mile of decline before the turnaround. I also reminded myself of the goal for mile 7 (56 minutes). By this point, my watch was registering ahead of the mile markers by .10 of a mile, probably due to the underpasses on the bike path. So I waited until the marker to check my time at mile 7. It read 57:25! Ok, not as fast as I thought but don’t let it get to you. Just keep going. As I headed back, the calculations started... 49+2=51. Ok, I have 51 minutes to get back. 51 minutes for 6.1 miles. What pace is that? Why can’t I think? 8:30 pace? I don’t know! Just run! Go by effort. It felt doubly hard going back uphill after such an easy first half but I knew it would. I prepared myself mentally, keeping my favorite mantras ready just for this point in time.

Mile 7 8:28

Mile 8 8:20

Mile 9 8:28


I was going in waves of feeling strong to feeling tired and back again. As I passed mile marker 9, I glanced at my time, 1:15! Wait, I thought I was doing better than that. I only have 34 minutes left! I don’t think I can make it in time. Don’t listen to those negative thoughts! Just keep going. Maybe you’re doing alright. At mile 11, someone was receiving medical treatment on a stretcher. Then, a bike came up on my left. What was this? Lead marathoners were catching up to us and flying past. I hung on, every once in a while passing someone. For an instant I reminisced about how far I’ve come since I first started running. Focus!! Focus on the goal! Did I pass mile marker 12? I must have. I didn’t want to fully believe my watch when it said only 1 mile to go. I’ve been fooled before.

Mile 10 8:26

Mile 11 8:43

Mile 12 8:39


Up, up, up. This was the steepest part. Just get to the end of the bike path and it’ll flatten out. I was following a younger girl and was thinking “just try to stay with her for a little while longer!” Then, I passed her! Great, keep going! Is this the end of the path?? Yes! Omg! I’m almost there. Time check: 1:45. I’m not going to make it. 4 minutes to go .6 miles? Just GO!! Do your best. There was a serious woman runner in front of me. Try to stay with her, she looks strong! Faster! Omg, I passed that woman too! A quarter mile to go. Straight down this city street and make a left. As I turned the final corner, I simultaneously saw a blur of the woman I passed fly right by me again and the finish line! I held on and pushed even more! I heard the announcer say my name as I struggled to read the official timing clock, crossing the mat at 1:49:17!


Mile 13 8:37

Last .1 7:19




So unbelievably close! I missed it by only 18 seconds! I sulked for a few minutes as I perused the finish area snacks (granola bars, protein shakes, water), collected my finisher’s medal, and went in search of a results tent. This year your official results were found by scanning a code on your bib! Super easy!

I retrieved my drop bag quickly and went to pick up my DeLoach Vineyards “Runner’s Red” bottle of wine from the info booth. https://deloachvineyards.com/ Everything was extremely organized! Beer tents were pouring a free beer for each finisher with additional drink tickets available for purchase. There was also a merchandise tent. I skipped both and went to the finish line to try to catch my running friends coming in. We all met up in the park and discussed our morning experiences.


My brief, missed goal disappointment dissipated and instead I grew extremely proud of the effort I put into this race. This event took place just two weeks after my win of a mountainous marathon in Oregon for crying out loud! It was a sub 1:50:00, a time that a few years ago seemed unreachable AND it was my fastest ever half marathon time!!


As I left Santa Rosa, I beamed with satisfaction, excited to wear my new finisher’s jacket with pride and celebrate with a toast to closing in on my ultimate goal! Cheers to that!






27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page