top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerun_sunshine

Modesto Marathon


Modesto Marathon

March 27, 2022

Modesto, CA

3:44:06

Boston Qualifier

NYC Qualifier

Wanting to continue my fun marathon streak after CIM and Redding, I searched for a local, spring race that was a certified Boston qualifying course. Sure, I had already qualified at the California International Marathon with a 4 minute buffer but I felt like I had a faster race in me. I certainly didn’t want to chance not making the Boston cutoff (which will be announced in September), especially when I had been hitting faster paces in the months following CIM. Plus, I was looking ahead to fall racing and wanted a little motivation to stay in top shape. Napa Valley Marathon was off the table since it falls on hubby’s birthday and I had backed out of Big Sur to attend a family wedding. Modesto Marathon seemed to check all the boxes.

What did I know about Modesto? Not much. I had only really heard of Modesto through the Laci Peterson disappearance back in 2002. And this, along with recent news report, actually made me a bit hesitant to register at all. I also knew Modesto was 105 miles away, the weather was typically warm on the back half of the course, but that the course was basically pancake flat. It wasn’t a dream race and if I’m honest, I didn’t have very high hopes for the experience. In fact, after registering, on more than one occasion it totally slipped my mind that I would be running it.

Leading up to the race I had three half marathons scheduled. The first at the end of February, I ran a PR of 1:43:43. Then on March 13, I broke that PR with a 1:42:33. The very next weekend I completed a hilly course in Napa with an official 1:43:03. I was trending faster with these half marathons (some of which were “make-ups” from 2020 if you’re wondering why I had so many back to back). But, after the third race I was feeling a bit fatigued. Not only had I been training and racing hard, but work life was crazy. Being a nanny, I was not only taking care of a three year old, but his pregnant mom had gone on maternity leave and was next level “nesting”. We organized, cleaned, moved furniture, built furniture, and completely whipped the house into shape during the month of March. Then, race week the preschooler came down with the flu. I was exhausted. I was physically tired from training, racing, and moving furniture and I was mentally tired from all the changes at work, plus now I was wearing a mask and washing my hands all day trying to avoid the plague. LOL By Wednesday before the race I went out for a run and could only make it two miles before walking home! Could I even finish a marathon at this point? I needed a rest.


Race weekend arrived. It was my time. I let go of work thoughts and rested all day on the Saturday before the marathon. I saw people on social media arriving in Modesto and picking up their bibs while I relaxed at home under my blankets. lol. Late Saturday afternoon I threw together a race outfit and packed a drop off bag. I was calm and relaxed. There was absolutely no pressure for this one. If I happened to get a better qualifying time than so be it.


The alarm was set for 3am. I woke up several times during the night but felt ok. I was on the road by 4:10am to make the 1:45:00 drive to Modesto in the dark. Having never been to the area, I allowed plenty of time to find parking, bib pickup, bag drop, and potties. Plus, I was hoping to drink coffee and leisurely eat “breakfast” in my car before the race.


I had no problem finding the race staging area, parking about 100 feet from the start line. Porta potties were also right near my car so I hit them up then walked over to the registration booth for my bib. I was early! Everything was so easy and I had plenty of time to refresh and warm up without being uptight or rushed.


At 6:40am, I left my car. No bag drop needed since I basically parked on the start line. lol. It was about 52 degrees, which was fine. I looked for a few IG friends and snapped a quick photo before finding my pacer.


I had been torn as to which pacer to run with, my choices being 3:50:00 or 3:40:00. I thought I could probably run a 3:40 but was scared to burn up by going out too fast. After toying with this decision all week. I lined up with the 3:50:00 pacer. If I felt good at mile 10, I’d push for a faster time. Then, as I was standing there waiting for the start, the 3:40:00 pacers came over and stood right next to us. Was this a sign? Why can’t I decide what to do?! As I was contemplating, another friend jumped over and surprised me. It was a fun distraction in the final minutes before starting.

A few seconds later, we started our 26.2 mile tour of Modesto, CA.


As we crossed the timing mat I kept my eyes on the 3:50:00 pacing flag. Man, it felt slow. I had finished a half marathon the weekend before at 7:42 pace and now running 8:46 pace seemed way too slow. Am I going to change my mind again and run with the faster guys? Ugh. Yes, ok, I’m doing it. At three quarters of a mile into the race, I continued with the 3:40:00 pacers and never looked back.


The first 3 miles wrapped around a beautiful high end neighborhood and I was pleasantly surprised. I had only imagined poorer sections and downtown city streets in my head. These gorgeous houses were on well established tree-lined streets and had spectators cheering at 7am. Impressive! Also impressive was the amount of pacers. I was running to the left of the 3:40:00 pacer, there was a backup pacer for him, then, there was a 1:50:00 pace group for the half marathoners. Somewhere around the 3 mile mark the 3:40:00 pacer questioned whether I was running the half or the full since we were all lumped together. By mile 3.5, we found ourselves in a more expected industrial area. However, it ran parallel with a freight train that was kind of cool in it’s own way. At mile 4 you climb “Mt. Modesto”, an overpass and the only elevation on the entire course.

After this section the course was absolutely beautiful. And FLAT!

Flanked on both sides by miles and miles of orchards and farmland, the course was not at all what I had expected. Multi-million dollar farmhouses were scattered here and there through the rows of almond trees. There was a slight cloud cover which kept the air cool and I felt an overall sense of relaxation while running the first 8 miles.

By this time the half marathoners had veered off to head back, while we continued deeper into the country. Even out there, spectators went all out! Creative signs, house parties, and refreshment tables lined sporadic driveways. A few memorable sights were a “Beer Finish Line” area complete with kegs and free cups of beer at mile 8.5 (or, more realistically mile 18 of the out and back) and a large bear? sitting in an Adirondack chair in the center of the road at mile 19?.


We passed a large dairy farm where the cows whimsically ran around as if excited to participate in this fun event. It was a beautiful morning and everything was feeling easy. I knew however that what felt comfortable now would likely change within the next 10 miles. With that in mind, I conserved as much energy as I could and noted to myself that I was capable of running this pace for the entire distance. Reassuring myself that I was not “going out too fast”, I concentrated on form, fuel, and hydration. The pacer asked me at mile 9 how many marathons have you run? I told him this was number 20. Ah, yes! That’s why. You are so steady and strong. YOU could be the pacer he said. That made me HAPPY!

The turnaround was at mile 14.2. By mile 10, it was starting to warm up. The cloud cover had burned off and even the pacer mentioned the warmth. At the halfway mat, he ask how I was doing. I was concerned about the temperature but fine otherwise. I braced myself for the sun on the return portion as it was sure to be bright in our faces. I watched the faster, already returning runner‘s expressions turning serious, their bodies glistening with sweat as they came towards us.

Sure enough, just beyond the pocket of shade in the turnaround, the sun beat down directly in our eyes. What I did not expect, however, was the slight headwind. No wonder things felt so easy going the other direction. I held onto the pace determined to make it farther than mile 18 (which was where the pacer got away from me at CIM). I concentrated on the right turn we’d eventually make in the miles ahead and hoped that would relieve us from the breeze. What I failed to consider was that we were also climbing ever so slightly on this back half. Now, don’t get me wrong, this was no Crater Lake or Tahoe elevation gain. But, I think somehow not knowing we were running uphill created unnecessary doubt in my tired mind.

Still, I kept pace. When we made the right turn passed the cows, I felt a lot better. I made it to mile 18 and continued with the pacers. Every once in a while I felt good, then I’d struggle again.

By mile 21, I knew I wasn’t going to be able to keep going at this rate. I had started falling behind but the “extra” pacer wouldn’t let me slow down. Without saying anything to me, he stayed by my side as the main group got out in front of us. He pointed to a smoother section of the road and gestured to run there. He grabbed an extra GU from the aid station and offered it to me but I declined (not sure why, I had taken one at mile 19?). He asked if I wanted electrolytes or water, then pinched the cup for me. We continued.

Finally near mile 22.5, I just stopped. He asked if I was ok and I apologized explaining that I just couldn’t hold the pace any longer. He asked what my PR was and I said 3:51:01. Then he asked one final question, what’s your heart rate? I fiddled with my Garmin and showed him a 179. Ah, ok. He conceded and told me to go slower but take GU and water. Then he took off to catch up with the pack. I had mixed feelings about that. I was disappointed that my 3:40:00 marathon time was lost but felt more relaxed on my own.


I wasn’t too far from the overpass climb again and this is where I started feeling foot cramping. At this point, I was in run/walk mode anyway so I tried to run as far as I could then loosen up my cramps in the walking breaks. Even though my fast goal was gone, I was still well below my PR and I was passing half marathoners! It seemed crazy to me that I‘d be finishing a full marathon before they were finishing their half. The memories of my own 3:30:00 half marathons came flooding back in my mind. FOCUS! I was only a mile from finishing and the sun was relentless.

At this point I wanted to make it in under 3:45:00 and I was in a pretty positive place. As I rounded the final curve at mile 26, a well-meaning woman shouted out to me, “You’re doing great! You’re going to make sub 4!!” Haha! I laughed to myself. Then, there it was!! The finish line!! I ran faster feeling my legs cramping (and reminiscing about my disastrous Tahoe finish). I thought just smile and make it over the finish, then you can cramp all you want. Lol.

Official time: 3:44:06

A 7 minute PR

Boston Qualified by 11 minutes!

NYM Qualified by 7 minutes!


I made my way down the finisher’s chute, grabbing a water, chips, and a burrito. Then, quickly made my way back to my car to get my phone and give Ron the good news. Pack your bags for Boston!!

I went back to the finish area for photos and to check to see if I got an age group award. I was disappointed when the volunteer announced I came in 4th in my age group.


I ran into my friend again so we discussed our new PR’s and got another photo.


Then I realized that the results on my phone listed me as the 3rd place AG winner so I eagerly went back to question the volunteer. It turned out that the first woman in my age group won 1st place Overall (which eliminated her from an age group award). This meant although I technically came in 4th, I get an AG award. lol. It’s the little things.

Knowing I had a 2 hour drive ahead of me, I didn’t stick around the finish area too much after that.


The take-away from this adventure? Don’t judge a book by it’s cover. When my husband asked me if I’d run this race again, I said yes! It’s a super flat, fast course but what made it fabulous was the volunteers, spectators, and without a doubt, the OnPaceRace team! Did I mention that both 3:40:00 pacers found my Strava profile and commented on my finish?! Outstanding!


This was most likely my last marathon in the 45-49 age group category as my 50th is quickly approaching. I couldn’t be more thrilled to have run a personal best, a BQ, and a NYQ as a final farewell to my forties at my 20th marathon.

I can’t wait to continue the journey in my fifties, chasing down those Big Apple and Unicorn dreams! What’s your dream? Let’s go chase it!


The Modesto Marathon benefits Teens Run Modesto (TRM). TRM challenges valley students to experience the benefits of goal setting, character development, adult mentoring, and improved physical health through a structured training program culminating in running the Modesto Marathon.


For more information or to register for the Modesto Marathon visit: https://modestomarathon.com/teens-run-modesto/



109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page