top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerun_sunshine

Raleigh City of Oaks Marathon

Updated: Dec 2, 2021

My First Sub 4 hour Marathon!

City of Oaks Marathon

November 7, 2021

Raleigh, NC


When my parents moved from Florida to North Carolina in the beginning of 2020, I began searching the internet for marathons near Raleigh. It didn’t take long to find that the go-to event in that area was the City of Oaks Marathon which takes place annually on the first weekend in November. The Pendo sponsored event also features a half marathon and a 10k race. I signed up for the full marathon using their worry-free registration shortly after visiting my mom in April.

Race day was scheduled for November 7, perfectly fitting into my fall race schedule. I had the Lake Tahoe Marathon on October 10 and California International Marathon a few weeks later on December 5.


Summer training went extremely well. I was hitting faster paces while incorporating hills and elevation. To be honest, my priority was training for Crater Lake Marathon (in August). The elevation gain and altitude of that race was daunting and I was training with the purpose of of finishing injury free on such a challenging course. Plus, I figured that it would only benefit me during the Lake Tahoe Marathon which has a similar course profile. That being said, as the calendar ticked closer to fall, I found myself wondering how I’d fare in Raleigh, a comparably flatter, sea-level course. In June, I was lucky enough to get a coveted NYC marathon “run virtually for guaranteed entry” registration! I had been trying to time qualify since getting one of these spots is nearly impossible. This meant that I’d need to run a marathon within the October 23-November 7 window to fulfill my virtual obligation. Perfect! Like it was all part of some grand scheme, the City of Oaks race just happened to not only falI within the virtual window but on the exact day of the live 2021 NYC marathon as well! The timing of it all was not lost on me. I’d run Raleigh, securing my 2022 NYC spot.



After winning FIRST PLACE FEMALE at Crater Lake, https://beth610723.wixsite.com/website/post/crater-lake-marathon I pushed toward my goal of qualifying for NYC missing it by 18 seconds in late August only to crush it in the beginning of October, coming in 3 minutes under my qualifying time for a 1:45:44 finish at the Urban Cow Half Marathon in Sacramento. My summer training was paying off in spades! Then, because of the wildfires in Tahoe, that marathon was postponed, the new date being October 31. This wasn’t part of the plan! Now, with this postponement, I’d have two marathon weekends back to back!

I may be delusional but never once did I consider dropping either the LTM or the City of Oaks Marathon. And since LTM is my all-time favorite, my efforts would be directed to it leaving the Raleigh race to be a fun run and a new marathon state.


When I ended up winning First Place Female in Lake Tahoe, I was consumed with thoughts of that experience for days. https://beth610723.wixsite.com/website/post/lake-tahoe-marathon-2021 Not only was I tired, sore, and emotional but I couldn’t even think about getting on a plane, flying 3,000 miles across the country to wake up before dawn and toe the start line for another 26.2 miles! I slogged through my work days and decided sleep at 6:30pm was more important than packing for my trip.

On Thursday of that “hurry up and recover” week, my legs still felt like cement blocks as I tried to do a few shakeout miles. On Friday, improvement was felt as I completed 2 additional miles for a grand total of 4 heavy miles that week. Then, before I knew it, I was on an airplane heading east.

As I was still wondering if I had remembered all my race gear, we flew right over Lake Tahoe. I glanced down out of the airplane window recalling how just a few days earlier I had lived my dream of breaking the tape at the finish line, standing on the podium as champion, and winning on the same beach where Ron and I got married. Suddenly, I wasn’t worried about the race details for the following day. It was going to be fun! No pressure, no expectations. I relaxed into my seat, sipping on electrolytes, and thanking the heavens for the Daylight Savings time’s extra hour of sleep I’d get that night.

After a full day of travel, I arrived at Raleigh Durham airport and quickly found the shuttle to the rental car pickup. Standing at the outdoor booth, the wind was whipping through the parking lot. And it was cold! I frantically pulled my long winter jacket from my suitcase, zipped up, and pulled the hood tightly over my head. Isn’t this the South, I wondered? As I politely waited for my rental keys, I reassessed every article of running attire I had packed into my carry-on and questioned whether or not I’d survive the race in this arctic weather. Ha! To add to the fun, the broader radar was predicting rain as well. Whatever, I told myself, it’s just 4 hours of my life…


I arrived at Mom’s around 5pm the night before the marathon. While she cooked me pasta, I unpacked and got my gear somewhat organized although by morning I was still unsure about which shirt to wear. It seemed like we’d catch a break with the rain, so I focused on the temperatures with the wind. Just before heading out the door on marathon morning, I changed into a tank top which ended up working in my favor.

I had slept like a rock! (a totally different vibe from Tahoe’s sleepless night). And my legs felt pretty good considering just a few days earlier I was having trouble walking down stairs. Since I was unfamiliar with the city of Raleigh, I gave myself extra time to find parking, portapotties, gear check, and grab a bite to eat before lining up at the start. Fortunately, I ran into a BIBRAVE friend just as I was arriving and we caught up on race goals, etc.

I meandered around the staging area taking in the overall atmosphere. I was calm and relaxed, ready to take a 26.2 mile tour of this beautiful city. Still wearing my throwaway jacket and gloves, I casually entered the starting corral and worked my way closer to the front while enjoying a Honey Stinger waffle. I was kind of looking for a pace group but the only ones I saw were for the half marathon. No worries, I’ll just go by effort then. I felt oddly confident, maybe because I won my last two marathons. Ha! But seriously, this field was different, normal. I had no shot at winning and that was fine. I was happy to discover a new city on foot and then go back to recover with my family. I noticed several “fast looking” runners-a girl with the underwear type shorts and double French braids stood out. The fast men 3-4 rows deep in the very front all looked like they were in it to win it. Then there was me, still recovering, no warm up, jet lagged, but ready to see how far my body would take me on this blustery gray morning.


Thousands of runners huddled together to block the wind as the National anthem was played, then as drones circled above, I crossed another starting line.

We started on an uphill because why not? Ha! Then we toured the historic downtown area. Right away it felt like pre-pandemic racing as I weaved in between the crowd for the first few miles, spectators loudly cheering the comeback of events. Up and down, up and down. Hills! I was holding back on speed and taking in the historic district sites-old churches, Victorian houses, the State Capital, museums, and college campuses all nestled in under well established oak trees bright with fall foliage.

I was well aware that the course was going to be hilly, although there was no course elevation chart since the course had been recently redesigned. However, the website noted a total gain of around 1,000 ft and I was ready for it. I had just completed two marathons in the mountains for goodness sake, this should be easier in comparison. Still, my gut told me to go super easy and to reassess things at mile 5. Who knows, I could be walking for 21 miles…

I was pleasantly surprised when I still felt good at mile 5. I dropped my jacket and gloves at this point, deciding that I was in this for the “long run”. As we looped around downtown, the wind was blocked by the tall buildings yet still noticeable. We’d be running into it directly uphill, then turn the corner and have an easy downhill with it at our backs. I had a long way to go but I was already making sure to run the tangents, wasting no steps. Neighborhoods were packed with cheering families and the sight of a few early Christmas decorations made me smile.

I saw a familiar group at mile 6: a Raleigh Fleet Fleet crew. I thought of how we’re all a big running family. By mile 6.5, I began to notice a few other runners having trouble. One girl was even dry heaving. Another was walking. I kept going, nice and controlled.


Miles 7 and 8 were a continuous climb out of the west side of Raleigh and I wondered if we’d get a stretch of downhill eventually. Around this time I saw Underpants shorts girl walking on the side of the course! I could hardly believe it. I really misjudged that one. We reached the top and the marathoners were directed onto the Greenway, while the half marathoners turned back. There were considerably less runners now on this path and it got cold and windy. But it was downhill and I was thankful for that. My headphones made a slight beep and after this happened a couple more times, I started questioning it. I thought I was getting texts, but when I realized I didn’t bring my phone I figured the only thing it could be was my battery level. Oh no! I’m only 10 miles in. How much longer will the battery last?

Miles 10-12 had significant declines and as much as I tried to run easy, I could feel the steep path taking a toll on my quads. Not only that but I wondered if we’d eventually have to retrace these hills in the opposite direction. Still, I was happy just to be feeling good at this point, though it was difficult to let a few people pass me-a woman in a tie dye shirt, a man wearing a T-shirt with “Yes.You.Can!” printed on the back. I was no longer chilly as the sun glistened through the thick trees. It was a lot more crowded now too as the path narrowed and there were runners in both directions of an out-and-back. As we came to the mile 13 sign, my music cut off. It would be a quiet 13.2 miles back to the finish.

I settled in with the thought that runners keep going no matter what and crossed the halfway mat at 1:54:55.

The course was flat up to the turnaround near mile 14.5. I spent this stretch doing some calculations after getting an idea of my pace for the first time. I was happy with not only my speed but how strong I was still feeling at mile 15. BUT, we did seem to be working our way back in the same direction we had come. And those steep hills were bound to catch up with me especially in the later miles of the race. I readied myself for them, conserving as much energy as I could, stopping at every water station, and taking my GU religiously every 5 miles.

As we started to ascend, I told myself that we would be rewarded at the top with a nice downhill to the finish line. I kept this thought for the first 100 feet up, the second 100 feet up. By this time I felt like I was moving backwards but I pushed forward slowly. Others were struggling-a few men grunting and taking walk breaks, a woman shouting “Hallelujah” every minute or so. Ha! 200 more feet up! I continued recalling the previous weekend when I climbed hills like this at altitude. Don’t stop. You can make it to the top, then relax and glide back down. At mile 18, I longed for a cup of water but that aid station ran out of cups. We were instead offered a garden hose to sip from. I declined, never stopping. The music at the aid stations giving me a short boost, then fading away into only the sound of my footsteps again. I crossed the 20 mile timing mat at 3:00:08.

We still had a little elevation before reaching mile 21 and I didn’t really mind. I saw everyone around me struggling and it lit a fire in me. How could I still be running when just 2 days ago I barely made it 2 miles? I was proud of my effort so far and no matter what happened from this point on, it wasn’t going to change that. Finally, we exited the Greenway with a half mile of relaxing downhill grade. Ahhh. This is where I saw Tie dye woman again and passed her! Men were walking. Men were getting passed by me! Ha! We turned around and headed back up. Cheering families were encouraging their walking runners, “Just a few more miles. You’re going to make it!” I breezed by.

I started struggling at another hill at mile 23, but pushed through and took a final GU and water. I’d come up on someone, hear them having difficulties (easy to do with no music in your ears), pass them, and hear them stop to walk. At mile 23, I looked at my Garmin. 3:30:00 and change! Wow, I could actually break 4 hours! Ugh, but why does it have to be so close!! Don’t think about it, you’re going to at least PR and that’s pretty cool too. Stay calm and see how close you are in a few miles. At mile 25 a woman shouted, “Look at you! There’s so many men behind you!” Ha! That made me laugh and gave me a little boost too. Mile 25.5, push a little more. I had nothing left. My legs were toast although not cramping yet. I was definitely brushing up close to the wall though. We had been running on a downhill but it didn’t really feel like it because of the muscle fatigue. I could hear the announcer at the finish now and knew we were almost there! Turn the corner, no finish line visible. Push it! Another turn, still no finish line. The announcer was getting louder, I looked at my watch. It’s so close, 3:58:45.

Where is it?!! Steep downhill and up and around. Turn again. OMG! There it is! What does the timing clock say?? I squinted my eyes to see it from 50 feet away… 3:59:58, 3:59:59, oh shit! GO!!! Wait a minute!! That’s the gun time, I didn’t cross the mat right away at the start. Could I have made a sub 4?! I flew across the finish line and the volunteer handed me a medal and questioned whether or not I made it in time. I replied that I wasn’t sure, but it would be my first sub 4 if I did!!!

Before checking my official results, a few more photos were taken and I collected my gear bag with my warm jacket. We were also handed free beanies for our marathon completion.



After bundling up, I nervously checked the final results and THERE IT WAS! 3:59:44!! I did it!




I sat down on the curb with other exhausted athletes in the bustling finish area to take it all in. According to the stats, I passed 30 people after mile 20!


5th in my age group! 34th out of 203 women! So happy and astonished with these results. After collecting my finisher’s shirt, I went back for more photos at the finish.

The finish area was well organized but lacking food so I returned to my rental car, chugged a protein shake, and headed to find the state capital building for a few medal shots before traveling the 25 miles back to Mom’s.

Back at Mom’s, I gave a play by play of the morning’s events to anyone that would listen. I went over my Strava data and got the first look at the elevation chart.

I knew it was a doozy! I curled up on the couch and watched tv with Mom all afternoon. We ended up catching the TSC NYC Marathon replaying the elites race and I watched in awe, knowing I had now completed 2 races in that virtual window to secure my spot for next November.

My nephew surprised me by flying down from NJ and we all enjoyed a night out at the local hot spot. My sister, who also lives in NC, joined us and we had a fabulous dinner and great conversations. I felt like I earned a piece of decadent s’mores cheesecake and felt no guilt eating it all.

The very next morning I went for a beautiful recovery run on a bike trail near Mom’s. 2 miles easy. It really seemed to loosen up my legs which was helpful before spending the day Christmas shopping with my sister.

We got into the spirit by visiting a Christmas shop like no other, DeWayne’s. You could get lost in their sea of Christmas cheer!


And just as quickly as I arrived, it seemed time to get back to the airport. A 3:30am wake up alarm came fast the next morning. But, when you’re still riding the runner’s high it doesn’t seem as bad. I not only had a fabulous race but more importantly spent quality time with my family on the east coast. I achieved my long sought after goal of running a sub 4 marathon only days after the LTM, truly blowing away my expectations. And, I ran my 7th marathon state, North Carolina.

First in line at Starbucks on concourse D, I grabbed my holiday red cup and toasted to another successful finish. Cheers to marathon number 17 and to accomplishing dreams when you least expect to!

Use the link below to register for the November 6, 2022 event and experience this race for yourself!



77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page